On March 28th-30th 2022, Car Seat Headrest played three consecutive sold out nights at Brooklyn Steel in New York. An air of celebration, community and showmanship was present, made all the more palpable as the shows were far from a certainty – they took place amidst a year which saw the band having to postpone or cancel a large swath of their North American tour dates due to ongoing health issues.

The three night residency is captured on Faces From The Masquerade – a double album’s worth of live performances that finds Car Seat Headrest at their most playful, exuberant, and precision honed.

The album title is a nod to the band’s original tour announcement, which kindly asked audiences to mask up (for obvious reasons) and also invited fans to “accoutre yourself in whatever further costumery you please” for an evening of “music, dancing, and identity loss.” It also alludes to the by now familiar custom-made gas mask worn by frontman Will Toledo at shows, complete with an expressive LED display for eyes. In addition to the group’s four core members – Toledo, guitarist/backing vocalist Ethan Ives, bassist Seth Dalby and drummer Andrew Katz – they were joined on the tour by keyboard player Ben Roth.

See the tracklist below…


1. Crows

2. Weightlifters

3. Fill in the Blank

4. Hymn

 5. Hollywood

 6. Bodys

 7. Something Soon

 8. 1937 State Park

 9. Sober to Death

10. Drunk Drivers/Killer Whales

11. It’s My Child (I’ll Do What I Like)

12. Can’t Cool Me Down %

13. Beach Life-In-Death

14. Deadlines

% Vinyl-only exclusive

TheWaster.com | Listen Up