Joe Russo has announced his debut solo album ‘phér•bŏney’ will be released February 7 on both limited edition neon violet and black vinyl via Royal Potato Family. Initially a surprise release on digital formats earlier this summer, the LP editions mark the first time the recording will be available in physical form. Throughout ‘phér•bŏney,’ Russo defies expectations with a collection of dreamy instrumentals and vocal tracks, channeling a sublime, reflective musicality.

Featuring Russo as primary composer and multi-instrumentalist, the acclaimed Brooklyn-based drummer is joined by friends and collaborators like saxophonists Stuart Bogie (Arcade Fire, Antibalas) and Erik Lawrence (Midnight Ramble Band, Steven Bernstein’s Millennial Territory Orchestra), guitarists Josh Kaufman (Josh Ritter, Bob Weir) and Robbie Mangano (Project/Object).

Russo is best known for his dynamic, dexterous, and densely layered rhythmic approach, which has propelled a bevy of jazz, rock, and electronic artists. As a bandleader in his own right, he founded and fronts the widely successful Grateful Dead revival band, Joe Russo’s Almost Dead. He first came to national attention with the Boulder, CO-based free jazz-rock collective Fat Mama and later as one half of the experimental downtown NYC post jazz combo, Benevento-Russo Duo. At various points over a near two decade career, he’s played with Cass McCombs, Craig Finn, Shpongle, Trey Anastasio and Mike Gordon, Gene Ween Band and Furthur featuring Phil Lesh and Bob Weir of The Grateful Dead.

Go ahead, pre-order the album here! | RPF