Brian Fallon has announced that he will release his debut solo album, Painkillers, in early 2016. The frontman from The Gaslight Anthem (now on an extended hiatus) is currently in the studio with Butch Walker, finalizing the record which will be available via Island Records next year.

Fallon reports on the album’s progress via his Tumblr page:

We’ve been starting every song out with acoustic guitar, vocal, bass, and drums live and then we pretty much build from there. It’s a great way to do it because as each thing goes on top you start to hear more and more of a finished song. We’re choosing each layer carefully and only putting on what we feel adds to the song, not just layering for the sake of slapping 32 guitars of the same part.

The Painkillers tour will feature a backing band consisting of The Gaslight Anthem guitarist Alex Rosamilia, The Horrible Crowes’ Ian Perkins and Molly & The Zombies bassist Catherine Popper (Jack White, Ryan Adams & The Cardinals). See all dates below…

Brian Fallon 2016 Solo Tour Dates:


7 – Portland, ME – Port City Music Hall
8 – Woodstock, NY – Bearsville Theater
9 – Mashantucket, CT – The Fox Theater at Foxwoods Resort Casino ­
10 – Wilmington, DE – World Cafe Live ­ Wilmington
12 – Pittsburgh, PA – Altar Bar
13 – Columbus, OH – The A&R Music Bar
15 – Charlottesville, VA – The Southern
16 – Saxapahaw, NC – Haw River Ballroom
17 – Nashville, TN – City Winery

Photo Credit: Michel Dussack | Solo