Willie Sugarcapps (featuring Will Kimbrough, Sugarcane Jane, Grayson Capps & Corky Hughes) has released their debut self-titled album via The Royal Potato Family, and you can get your copy on iTunes now!

Way down in lower Alabama, almost every weekend for the past two years, folks have been coming together for a music gathering called The Frog Pond at Blue Moon Farm. One part house concert, one part Levon Helm’s Midnight Ramble, the affair in its short existence has already hosted some of the country’s finest songwriters, pickers, bluesman and troubadours ranging from Mary Gauthier to Alvin Youngblood Hart, Malcolm Holcombe to Randall Bramblett, Sergio Webb to George Porter, Jr. It’s here that frequent encounters between reoccurring guest artists—Grayson Capps, Corky Hughes, Will Kimbrough and the duo Sugarcane Jane (featuring Savana Lee and Anthony Crawford)—led to the birth of a band, the aptly named Willie Sugarcapps.

At first it was simply songwriter-in-the-round and jam session-styled collaborations between the five distinct musicians, but it quickly grew to become something more. There was chemistry that inspired a repertoire of songs demanding to be documented. They recruited Capps’ longtime partner and Grammy Award-winning producer/engineer Trina Shoemaker to record them, which resulted in the self-titled, debut album, Willie Sugarcapps, available August 20 from The Royal Potato Family. Tracked during a single recording session on the dogtrot of Crawford and Lee’s house in Baldwin County, the collection presents ten impeccably crafted songs imbued by relaxed performances, angelic harmonies and country Zen sentiment. Band members take turns singing lead as they switch up between fiddle, banjo, mandolin, lap steel, bass and even ukulele.

“Willie Sugarcapps is a homecoming for all of us,” explains Will Kimbrough. “It’s coming full circle back to the beginning of why we do this in the first place and the joy of what happens when you play and sing with people who are alike in spirit and mind.”

Willie Sugarcapps collective musical experiences mingle together to create a new kind of organic and artisanal music. It’s laid back, it rocks, it comes from classic country, from the blues, from New Orleans and from the best kind of rock ‘n’ roll. It tells a story through five individual voices full of character and experience with humanity, energy and soul. It’s comforting to know that music in the hands of these five artists still happens for no other reason than purely the sake of the music itself.

Willie Sugarcapps track listing:
1. Willie Sugarcapps
2. Mr. Lee
3. Oh, Colorado
4. Magdalena
5. Energy
6. Mud Bottom
7. Gypsy Train
8. Poison
9. Trouble
10. Up To The Sky


TheWaster.com | Gypsy Train