Reed Mathis has enlisted jam greats including Mike Gordon, Page McConnell, Joe Russo, Marco Benevento, Stanton Moore, The Barr Brothers and more for his upcoming release, Beathoven. Known for his work with Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey, Tea Leaf Green and Billy & the Kids (led by the Grateful Dead’s Bill Kreutzmann), Mathis will took a new direction by re-imagining the music of his first love – Ludwig van Beethoven.

Dubbed “the world’s first CDM (“classical dance music”) ensemble”, Mathis and his cohorts updated the classic composer’s arrangements for a modern jam band setting. Beathoven is due September 30 on Royal Potato Family, but you can get a taste by streaming “Rebirth” below…


1. Awakening of Happiness (feat. Joe Russo & Luke Bolla)
2. Scene by the River (feat. Andrew Barr & Steve Pryor)
3. Rain Dance (feat. Stanton Moore & Jared Tyler)
4. Thunderstorm (feat. Matt Chamberlain & Mike Dillon)
5. Shepherd’s Song (feat. Page McConnell & Jason Smart)
6. In Memory of a Great Man (feat. Mike Gordon & Joe Russo)
7. Funeral March (feat. Marco Benevento & Matt Chamberlain)
8. Rebirth (feat. Brad Barr & Andrew Barr)
9. Finale (feat. Stanton Moore & Robert Walter)

Sept. 23-25 – Lakewood, PA – Catskill Chill
Oct. 22 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Comes Alive | Beathoven